IGNORED

Changing 2003 R1150RT Oil

bigtim

I suspect that every person new to BMW's has asked the same question but here goes....please be gentle with me I'm new to Beemers but not to motorcycles.

Through extensive examination of the bike I have finally located the oil filter and I suspect the oil drain plug.

I recently purchased the bike (11000 miles) and beginning to think about winter storage. My past practice has always been to change out the oil before the long winters nap but I have never changed oil on the model, and I can't get to the dealer before the white stuff flyes.

I assume this can be done by anyone with a brain and good mechanical ability. Are there any suggestions on how to make this process easier. It looks like it could get a bit messy draining the oil, which plug is it, the top or bottom?

Any advice is greatly appreciated and thanks in advance. BT

bigtim.

Careful; your "is it the top or bottom plug" remark makes me thing you're looking at the trans fill (top) and drain (bottom). Oil drain is on the bottom of the crankcase, looking straight down at garage floor.

Oil change may be the most straight forward and easiest mechanical chore, yet does require oil filter wrench (see the oil filter "encased" in bottom crankcase; usual tool is bmw-specfic filter cap wrench.