IGNORED

Starter question

mshuell

Greetings,

Bike is a 1996 R1100RT with around 85,000 miles. About a year ago, the starter seemed to be getting tired so I replaced it with a new Valeo unit. It worked great until last week. Now, when I hit the switch, I can hear the solenoid engage, but the starter motor does not turn. After about 3 - 4 tries, the starter motor will engage and turns the engine briskly. The battery is new. I'm planning on getting into it today. My hope is the contacts to the starter are corroded and it's not getting all the juice it needs to spin over.

If anyone else has some thoughts, please let me know. I have to tell you that I can change parts, but I'm not a real mechanic. My electrical diagnostic skills are minimal.

Best Wishes, Mark Shuell.

Was this a "brand new" Valeo unit or one that you bought used that is "new" to the bike?

If it is new, just call the shop you bought it from and tell them the issue. However, if it is a used replacement starter, you could well have the detached magnet issue with it.

Assuming the solenoid to motor wiring connection is tight my guess is that one of the motor brushes is sticking. The brushes move along the axis of the motor onto the commutator unlike a conventional motor. Get a soft hammer and gently tap the END of the motor. This might release a sticking brush.

If that fails it is not a difficult job to dismantle the motor. Its easier to take of the side plate first.

regards,

Ian

Greetings,

Here's the progress so far. Last night I took off the tupperware and looked at all of the connections. None of them showed any appreciable corrosion, but I took each of them off and carefully sanded them shiny clean. It seems to have worked. This morning I hit the start button and she cranked and fired perfectly. I have my fingers crossed. Thanks to all for your suggestions.

Best Wishes, Mark Shuell.