IGNORED

I love my girl, but...

Rockrib

Hello all, long time lurker, first time poster. I just recently got an r1100rt and after an MSF class and a few thousand miles of "practice" we have come to terms. That is to say, I don't think it's trying to kill me anymore.

I have resigned myself to the the fact that my bike IS the alpha male in our relationship. It's bigger, stronger and it's German for God's sake. But I still have the key.

I should mention that this is my second bike. My first was a little Honda 350/375 twenty odd years ago. No permit, no license, no class. It's a wonder I'm still alive.

I'm trying to do it right this time.

So here's the thing; my girlfriend is starting to get offended because I won't take her for a ride.

How do I know when I'm ready for a pillion?

A little background; I drive for a living. NO, I drive RESPONSIBLY for a living. When I go out after work to "practice", I really do practice. Panic stops, swerves, low speed figure 8's (this bike sux at low speed). Everything from the MSF class.

So again, How can I tell if I'm ready for a passenger?

Thanks in advance to all.

Ken.

My suggestions:

First of all, a MSF class and a few thousand miles of "practice" are a good start but experience counts for a lot, and if you are not yet completely comfortable on the bike you are not yet ready for a passenger.

Explain the situation to your GF. It's her safety you are concerned with.

When YOU are ready, if the GF is still interested,

explain to the GF what is expected of a passenger on a bike (If you do not already know, here is another study topic for you), have her drive to where you do some of your training drills, then start working on the drills with the GF on the back of the bike.

Both of you wearing protective gear.

Once you both are comfortable with the drills, then think about road trips. Straightish low traffic routes at first, gradually increasing in complexity and traffic as you both are comfortable.