IGNORED

Best Route from Topaz Lake to SW Colorado

AdventurePoser

AdventurePoser

Hi all,

After the rally, the Flame and I are heading to southwestern Colorado for nine days in the San Juan mountains. Is that sweet or what???

Anyway, for those of you familiar with the area, do you have any tips about highways, time, places to stop, eat, etc, etc. We are allowing two days to ride from Topaz to Ouray, Co.

What do you say?

Steve

I'm no expert, given where I live, but after the Un my wife and I are spending a couple of weeks in California. However, when we head back east we'll be leaving from Oakhurst (just south of Yosemite NP). We're going to take three days to ride from Oakhurst to Ouray vs. the two you say you're doing. In any event, on Day 1 we'll ride from Oakhurst to Alamo Nevada. Day 2's ride is from Alamo to Torrey UT, and Day 3 is from Torrey to Ouray. If you're at all interested PM me and i can send you Garmin routes (this assumes you can open/view GDB files in Mapsource. I could also save them and send them in GPX format). In summary form:

Oakhurst-Alamo: east out of Yosemite on the 120, then onto US 6 at Benton, onto the 375 at Warm Springs, onto 318 for less than a mile and south for a few miles on US 93 to Windmill Ridge.

Alamo-Torrey: take the 93 north then east; turn onto the 319 at the Lincoln County airport (the 319 becomes the 56 when crossing into Utah); follow the 56 to Cedar City and leave Cedar City on the 14; turn off the 14 onto the 148 to ride through Cedar Breaks National Monument; exit Cedar Breaks by turning east onto the 143; turn onto the 12 in Panguitch and follow it all the way to Torrey.