IGNORED

Protective Gear - Best Bang for the Bucks

kudzu

My brother-in-law decided to return to riding after a hiatus of decades and bought a Honda VTX 1300C. For several reasons, a cruiser is probably right for him. As soon as my wife (his sister) heard what he was doing, she told him in no uncertain terms to get MSF training and buy good protective gear. I'm so proud of her! thumbsup.gif

He is not going to spend $1,000+ for a high-end riding suit. So, what would you recommend that would provide a good level of protection, thermal comfort over a temperature range skewed toward the warmer side, as economically as possible?

Thanks, all!

I like my First Gear stuff, most of it bought at motorcyclecloseouts.com. Scott gave a link above. I've been wearing the Trekker jacket for 2 or 3 years, along with HT overpants. I like First Gear's products because they are relatively inexpensive, and do what I want.

Both of the above are waterproof without having to add liners. But both will be too hot for him in summer. I can only stand the Trekker up to about 80.

Bang for the buck is probably the Fieldsherr (sp?) stuff. I've looked at some, great features for the price. I actually have a 2-piece set of leathers from them I still dream of fitting back into. Their sizes tend to run on the quite small side, in my experience.

All that being said, though, my current stuff is First Gear, or Hein Gericke. Good quality, and can often be found on sale. The Ht air overpants (included liner) are good for almost any conditions. For an all condition jacket, I have the Kiliminjaro Air (included liner), but I don't think it has the cruiser look.... They do have some "more cruiser look" stuff, tho. I've been extremely happy with newenough.com. They are the bomb.

all the best,

Mike