IGNORED

Help installing Garmin City Navigator Update

Bill_Walker

This might be a little too far off topic, but I've gotta get help somewhere. Email to Garmin has produced no response.

First off, let it be known that I'm a Mac guy. I've used Windows on and off over the years, and used DOS a lot, but I'm no Windows expert. I am a retired software engineer, though.

I've got a BMW Navigator II, and I recently bought the V7 update of Garmin's City Navigator North America maps. I've been unsuccessful installing these maps.

I'm using an old PC that we used to use for our business (before we got disgusted and switched the business to a Mac, too). It's running Windows 98, and we've long since lost the system disks that came with it.

First off, the new update comes on DVD, and the old Windows 98 PC I'm using didn't have a DVD reader in it. I had one lying around that I'd taken out of my Mac, and I threw it in. It seems to work without any device driver updates. I can copy the contents of the DVD to my hard drive, at any rate.

When I double click on the DVD, it launches Garmin's installer program. I then click on "Install Updates", I get a little "Preparing for installation" dialog box, that dialog box closes, and the PC locks up solid. No cursor movement, no response to Ctrl-Alt-Delete, nada.

When I reboot the PC, I find that my V5 maps have been deleted, but nothing new has been installed.

I've tried:

1) Adding more RAM to the PC

2) using msconfig to disable all non-MS startup items.

3) Laboriously deleting all traces of any previous installation (including in the registry), reinstalling V5 & Mapsource from scratch, applying the interim Mapsource updates, and then trying to install V7 again.