IGNORED

R12RT RCU shelf ??

David_S

Is anyone running an RCU shelf on a 12RT? If so how does it work for you for as far as movement over bumps, general sturdiness? I had one on an 1150RT and 12GS and they tended to bounce around a lot. I know the BMR shelf is probably rock solid but I don't want to spend that much just to mount XM and V1 since I have the GPS already mounted where I like it.

ClearwaterBMW

they don't bounce when you use LIQUID NAILS

i GLUED the shelf to the BRACKET on the GS....

and it works fine

you can't move the shelf on the bracket....

which is a problem when you want to move your shield

but.... it is great this way for stability

i recomment this highly

ln600_tube.jpg

greg

i have NO experience with the shelf on the RT.... i was speaking only of the 1200GS

greg

I have the RCU shelf on my 12RT. It does tend to bounce some on bumpy roads. That's to be expected since it is cantilevered out over the instrument panel. I have a Garmin 276C mounted on it and have had no problems. The 276C is designed for marine use and on a small or medium sized motor boat it would take a lot more punishment than it takes on the bike. I supect that the combined weight of the Valentine and XM would still be less than the 276C, so I would think there would be even less bouncing.

The quality of the materials and finish is good, as is the price. Works fine for me thumbsup.gif

Brian

I just put it on about a week ago for a radar detector. No doubt it is bouncing a bunch, but is has stayed tight. I hope it is not hurting anything

Guys,

I've seen the RCU shelf in photo's, but I can't figure out how accessories are supposed to be mounted to it. Do you drill holes in it? Duct tape? smile.gif