IGNORED

Oil Filter

Paul Wilson

Does anyone know the filters that will enterchange on a K1200. Thanks Paul

Howdy Paul! I don't know if you mean other brands of filters, or if other BMW filters interchange...

I'm a cheap A$$, just ask my wife...still, the cost of an original BMW filter is cheap enough not to cause me a great deal of stress. I buy three or four at time with the requisite crush washer and don't look back. One always stays in my saddle bag in case I decide to drop out of life and ride away...at least I've got a filter for the road! thumbsup.gif

Don't cheap out on filters man; remember they're INSIDE the engine, so you don't want any paint, labels, etc. on them.

Buy a few from big dealers like Bob's and you'd end up paying about $6 a pop; cheap insurance.

AMSOil SMF 122

EMGO 10-26740

Fram PH6063

Purolator ML16825

Do some research here before you make your mind up. Personally, like JC and Allen, I'd stick with the BMW filter....not that I am an expert in oil filters...right guys? tongue.gif

The oil filter used on early BMW 2002, 320, etc. also fits. They seem to be much cheaper than the motorcycle ones.

e.g. the following at $3.87.

2002 oil filter

This is an OEM grade Mahle filter, same as you would get from the dealer. You probably won't get the drain plug washer, but you can buy these for $0.50 from your local auto parts store.

AMSOil SMF 122

EMGO 10-26740

Fram PH6063

Purolator ML16825

Do some research here before you make your mind up. Personally, like JC and Allen, I'd stick with the BMW filter....not that I am an expert in oil filters...right guys? tongue.gif

No way, not you Greg!!! Good grief!!!

Thanks all, I just moved up form So Florida. I bought this K bike in Ft Myers. It has had alot of Hot-rod stuff.I does run storng.I just live like 120mi form Shreveport La an about 70mi form a (Plano Tx ) Dealer (They are Ass,s to me) . So I was just looking for something if I had to ..Thanks Paul clap.gifthumbsup.gif