IGNORED

Question for wrenchers

goji

Hi all,

Do experienced wrenchers have a preference between hex and Torx bits that are permanently fixed to 3/8" or 1/4" sockets vs. bits that are removable and can be inserted into 3/8" or 1/4" socket adapters?

I am a novice wrencher but I do want to become proficient at DIY on my '04 RT. I've changed my oil and removed/ mounted my wheels in the process of having my tires changed. While I used the standard tool kit for most of my DIYs thus far I am not certain if the torques I applied met the bikes specification. Plus, while the hex and Torx keys are fine for now I would prefer to use a ratchet type device for the hex and torx bolts on the bike. I have already invested in a torque wrench but need to decide upon which configuration of bits and sockets to get.

Best,

Goji

For small stuff I like the bits that will fit a screwdriver handle or 1/4 inch adapter. For anything that requires torque, 3/8 or 1/2 inch drive, I want the bit to be part of the socket.

I try to use my 1/4 drive ratchet and extensions for everything possible, at least up thru 6mm bolts. 1/4" drive gets into tight spots and the torque is "self-limiting". Only with larger fasteners, 8mm and up, do I use the 3/8" drive. I use torx and hex keys which are 1-piece, generally - they are more solid feeling and not likely to come apart when in a tight spot.

Stuart Ostroff