IGNORED

So what does a clogged fuel filter feel like?

Scurrie

OK gang,

Help me diagnose a problem that seems to getting worse on my 99’ R1100RT. I started noticing increased vibration in the engine about 8K miles ago, mostly centered around 3K and again at 4K RPM. Subtle at first, but growing more noticeable. I have done all the standard checks, new plugs, valves are right on, TBS is right on, no vac. leaks. I took a few relatively long rides this summer, and in fact, just did about 350 miles on Monday. Things seem much worse this week. Around 4K really now feels like it is hesitating/missing, and roll on in 5th starting at 4K is rather lack luster and the vibration at 5K and above is now very strong. Also, backfire on deceleration is worse than usual. I think it acts like a fuel/air problem, not ignition, but I’m no Boxer expert.

I am the second owner of this bike, first owner put all of 6K miles on it in 5 years, it did a lot of garage time. I have put on 14K in the past 14 months. I don’t think the fuel filter has ever been changed. Ideas?

Thanks,

Scurrie, As you,ve already recognised, there is a wide range of possible problems, or combinations of problems, that will produce these symptoms. If all else has been checked within reason and you think it could be fuel system related, the fuel filter and hoses within the tank are a good place to start. It only needs a small leak in one of the fuel hoses within the tank to either cause a leak in pressure or to introduce air into the fuel line.

It would be prudent to have the tank serviced first and then move onto the possibility of dirty injectors.

ShovelStrokeEd

Just change it, its not that hard and only requires a few bucks in parts.

Go to the FAQ and you'll find the part #'s. You will probably be able to search out the procedure.

The recommended filter change interval is 24K miles but, at 6 years old, it won't cost you to change it now.