IGNORED

progressive or bifocals

yabadabapal

For those of you who wear eyeglasses. I was wondering if you prefer to wear progressive lenses or bifocal lenses when your riding. What are the reasons for your choice.

Whats safer etc.

I have two pairs of glasses. One regular for distance, small scrip and one progressive. I hate driving or riding with my progressive. Things don't stay in focus when moving my head around or rolling my eyes down to see the instruments.

I only wear the progressive for work or like now on the computer or reading.

Never had bi-focal lenses. I have been using progressive for the last 7 or 8 years. No problems with either the instruments or the GPS (mounted above instruments on shelf). Now the map on top of tank bag, does take a little longer to adjust to read it, but that I normally do when not moving.

I did try the GPS first mounted on top of the ignition switch area (center of handle bar), using the factory mount for the R1200RT, but it was too distracting having to look down all the time.

I think if you mount it high enough had have your frames adjusted to stay high enough on top of your nose, you should be OK.

I couldn't deal with the hour-glass shape of the early progressives as it really messed up my peripheral vision... exacerbated since I have a small face and wear small lenses.

So, I've been wearing bi-focals for about 6 years now and am just now starting to get where I have a mid-range problem, i.e., my distance prescription and reading prescriptions continue to diverge leaving a 'gap' in the mid-range. Fortunately, the only time the mid-range is an issue is when I'm working on a computer and I can simply remove my glasses... presto, mid-range. GPS on the bike is starting to be a bit of an issue and my Dr. has once again suggested progressives. Ugggg. I may try them again next year. We'll see (no pun intended).