IGNORED

Holy %^&@! Now what?

DaBeef

Sooo... I am on the way home from school today (I'm a HS teacher) and as traffic in front of me comes to a stop, I grab the front brake and.....nothing, at least not much, I squeezed harder and slowed down in time, but in need of new underwear. Then the brakes were working again, but the brake failure light was blinking. And even though they were working just as before, I didn't really trust 'em and used engine braking mostly. The bike is and 02 R1150RT with around 56,000 miles. How much trouble am I in? I really love the bike, but I don't know how much I can sink into her now. Ideas?

From your description it sounds like you experienced some kind of intermittent failure of the servo brake system. If everything seems to be working fine now (except for the light) the thing to do would be to pull the fault code and see where that points you. A dealer can do this or maybe you can find someone near you with a GS911 (a consumer fault code reader device.) You could also try a brake fluid flush and fill (to make sure levels are correct in the secondary system) but that would kind of be working in the blind.

From your description it sounds like you experienced some kind of intermittent failure of the servo brake system. If everything seems to be working fine now (except for the light) the thing to do would be to pull the fault code and see where that points you. A dealer can do this or maybe you can find someone near you with a GS911 (a consumer fault code reader device.) You could also try a brake fluid flush and fill (to make sure levels are correct in the secondary system) but that would kind of be working in the blind.

Seth

I'm not sure his bike is safe to drive till he has the fault codes checked???

What do you think?

L