IGNORED

Ethical Business...Oxymoron?

ThomasJ

Maybe a strange one here, and I know…wine with my dinner {I have teenagers so I could export wine}, but I have been working professionally now for just over 24 years in the engineering field with another 15+ to go. I have worked for 5 different outfits, all except the 1st were/are mid to large aerospace firms here in California. All, except the first that went bust years ago, have either functioned in an unethical manner and/or treated their staff with great disrespect. My question is this: are their successful businesses that truly behave in an ethical manner and treat their staff with the respect they should? I’m very discouraged with my current employer because of how the owners treat their staff…not the kind of outfit I would recommend to anyone with long-term aspirations though I’m a hiring engineering manager. Hence, I’m now looking (great timing!) but how do you know the good (if there are any) from the bad? :S

Thanks,

Tom

Tom,

Why don't you start your own ethical, respectful engineering firm? You can right the wrongs that you have encountered during your career so others don't have to suffer as you have.

It sounds like an industry thing. I've heard a similar complaint from an engineer at P&W (our local aerospace company).

Are the companies you're referring to unionized?

(Thoughts:

- Unions generally come in when management is arbitrary or capricious.

- Unionized labor generally has a more argumentative relationship with management.

Not for/against it, just some personal observations)

please describe the unethical behavior referred to in the post. curious minds want to know.

Likewise here,

just keep in mind everyone can read your posts here, and until you have secured new employment, caution is the word (actually if they feel your comments are liabilist, they can and likely will, come after you even after you left).

jus' saying