IGNORED

Disable side stand kill switch??

ElDuche211

Hello to all clap.gif , I am New to the BMW world, I recently got me a 2000 1100RT, and coming from a ZX-12R, this bike is heaven; anyway I need info on how to disable the side stand kill switch. (So I can star my bike while using the side stand). Any help will be appreciated.

Gian

Any

So I can start my bike while using the side stand

Why would you want to do that? Let me guess; so you can warm up the bike while you do other things?

Bad idea!!!!

This is an air cooled engine. Some of these bikes have melted their plastic tupperware parts, even caught them on fire while on fast idle and the phone rings, or a trip to the john takes longer than expected.

Best plan is to mount the bike, pull up the side stand, start the bike, wait about 30 seconds (long enough to back down my driveway), and ride off gently while the bike warms up.

Stan

Your guess is correct, I knew about the bike being air cooled, but had no idea of any possible melting of the plastic (It make sence), I think I'll follow your advice.

Thanks

Is the '04 RT different? I can start it whith the side stand down, but I can't put it in gear -- that's when the kill switch kicks in (thank God).
I think it's an 1100 v 1150 issue. I'd disable it as long as the engine still cuts out when you put it in gear, I lost a GW due to the sidestand being down with an experienced BMW rider riding it (back when the sidestand was sprung).
Is the '04 RT different? I can start it whith the side stand down, but I can't put it in gear -- that's when the kill switch kicks in (thank God).

Yup. The way that EB disables the side stand upgrades it to act like the new bikes allowing the bike to run on the sidestand, but not in gear.