IGNORED

Is this dumb question #4 or 5????

Whip

I need to add some length to my side stand.

I'm a pretty good welder. It needs about an inch added to it. I have a few scraps of metal around the garage/barn. Can I disconnect the battery to save the ABS (I saw LWR) or do I need to remove the side stand?????

L

Charles Elms

Before I would weld an extension, I would get one of the "big foot" or equilavent pads that attach to your sidestand with small bolts or clips and screw a thick plywood piece to that. This way you can be sure that the length is correct and it will retract properly. I know this does not answer you question about welding. I would remove the sidestand before welding with arc welder.

I'm a pretty good welder. It needs about an inch added to it. I have a few scraps of metal around the garage/barn. Can I disconnect the battery to save the ABS (I saw LWR) or do I need to remove the side stand?????

L

Whip, IF you place your welder ground directly on the side stand there should be no current backflow into the motorcycle.. Mig welders are not that bad on electronics anyhow..

The high frequency on a Tig welder can be a problem but I have Tig welded on many many cars & a few electronic bikes & never had a problem with electronics damage..

Twisty

Before I would weld an extension, I would get one of the "big foot" or equilavent pads that attach to your sidestand with small bolts or clips and screw a thick plywood piece to that. This way you can be sure that the length is correct and it will retract properly. I know this does not answer you question about welding. I would remove the sidestand before welding with arc welder.

I hate the look of those goofy things, and they look like they get in the way when your riding.

L

Whip, IF you place your welder ground directly on the side stand there should be no current backflow into the motorcycle.. Mig welders are not that bad on electronics anyhow..