IGNORED

Is motorcycle oil worth the extra cost

Andrew Falanga

Andrew Falanga

Hi everybody,

The FAQ for oil said, "Editors needed." The question I have is simple, is motorcycle really worth the extra cost? I was doing some googling on this a little bit ago (since I was at work, it wasn't much admittedly). I saw one thread in a Kawasaki group where many were quite adamant that the extra cost does nothing but line the pockets of good marketers. Others disagreed. At the risk of opening pandora's box, I'm asking here. Is it really worth the extra cost?

I should add that even in that thread those who were saying that it's not worth it did admit that not all motor oil is created equal. The brand that was deemed "worth it" for being a regular motor oil was Castrol GTX.

Please note that this is not a question respecting natural over synthetic. I do believe the extra cost for synthetic is well worth it.

Thanks,

Andy

pickersgill1

I'm no expert

My feelings are that motorcycle oil is deigned more for high reving bikes with wet clutches. BMW 1150 engine should be okay with high quality Castrol type oil, saying that I always end up putting my hand in my pocket and buying the container with motorcycle oil on!

I may change if the experts on here give their opinion. :S :S

Hi everybody,

The FAQ for oil said, "Editors needed." The question I have is simple, is motorcycle really worth the extra cost? I was doing some googling on this a little bit ago (since I was at work, it wasn't much admittedly). I saw one thread in a Kawasaki group where many were quite adamant that the extra cost does nothing but line the pockets of good marketers. Others disagreed. At the risk of opening pandora's box, I'm asking here. Is it really worth the extra cost?

I should add that even in that thread those who were saying that it's not worth it did admit that not all motor oil is created equal. The brand that was deemed "worth it" for being a regular motor oil was Castrol GTX.