IGNORED

Anyone have hands on experience with the Butt Buffer?

FLrider

I'm referring to the polymer version that is installed under your seat vinyl, NOT the pad that straps on top of it.

I'm reluctant to invest in the Russell because a) it's a little expensive and b)I don't care for the aesthetics. I think the "winged" shape of the Russell seat makes a sport tourer look, well, not as clean.

Not saying I won't ultimately wind up with the Russell but, if I get enough positive feedback on the Butt Buffer insert, I may be tempted to try it first.

I had one installed prior to leaving on my 4300 mile trip to the Unrally just a couple of weeks ago. The concept is good, but mine was not properly installed. I am having it fixed this Saturday, 8/29/09, so the jury is still out. I will report on the outcome.

I have no experience with the Butt Buffer, but do have a Russell. The Russell is, by far, the best accessory I've ever purchased. Remember, you don't look at the seat when you are riding - or shouldn't be anyway. I don't find the wings visually "offensive" in any way. Your posterior will forever grateful with a Russell. (No affiliation, of course - just a happy customer.)

A buffer pad under the vinyl will do little to change the shape of the seat. If you are going to ride long distance you should get a seat that fits your butt. You might consider a seat from Rick Mayer as he has a special technique where he makes sure there is LESS presure where you need to have presure relieved. If you tune in to "Side Stand UP" (Featured link on LDComfort.com ) You will be able to hear Rick Mayer talk about seating comfort. Rick will be the guest speaker on September 1st. Right after Bob Higdon gives an update on the Iron Butt Rally. I think listening to the show will change what you might expect from a buffer pad.

I want you to enjoy every mile. :)