IGNORED

1150RT Vibration

frenchwv

I'm relatively new to RT ownership. I recently finished a 4000 mile ride over six days; I did a 1500 mile ride one day. Anyway, the only thing that seemed to bother me was the vibration at high speeds. I have a stock seat and I'm on the waiting list for a Russel day-long, but is there anything else I can do to the bike to minimize the vibration? Suspension perhaps?

What kind of vibration did you notice ???

handle bars ? Tires ? front ? rear ? or just engine ???

Not that I can help any, but the guys here like to have a little more description of how a bike is acting, the year, the number of miles on the bike and the model (which you supplied) so that they can provide a better suggestion as to the cause...

Regards -

-Bob

It's a 2004 model. The engine vibration is incredibly strong through the seat and subsequently through my whole body. My body continued to vibrate after getting off the bike. I know vibration is a part of riding, but I wanted to know if there was anything (besides a saddle) I could do to the RT to minimize the vibration.

Obsessive attention to valve adjustment and throttle body sync can work wonders. I'm still amazed at the difference in vibration between what the dealer did (buzzy above 4500 rpms) and what I achieved after a few attempts.

Obsessive attention to valve adjustment and throttle body sync can work wonders. I'm still amazed at the difference in vibration between what the dealer did (buzzy above 4500 rpms) and what I achieved after a few attempts.

+1 here on what selden says.

I have never felt discernable vibration through the seat of my '02. In general, if in reasonable tune, these bikes are quite acceptably smooth in the 3k to 5k rev range.......Which would equate to 60/100 mph in high gear.

Are you sure it is the motor? It sounds more like a rear tire badly out of balance to me.