IGNORED

Brake Failure light came on today

oodude

2007 12RT. 3300 miles (yeah, you read that right - I travel too much for a living and don't get to ride).

Out for a ride, came to a stop, brake failure light comes on. Brakes seem to work just fine. "Rebooted" bike. Light was off. Later on ride it came on again - brakes seem just fine.

What would you do?

Start by looking for obvious causes like loose hardware, a damaged ABS wire, something interfering with the sensor pickup or low brake fluid. If you cannot easily identify the problem take it back to the dealer for help right away. The bike is still under warranty, right?

Keep us posted. Good luck.

Jay

oodude, depending on what brake failure light & what it was doing I would start with the tail light bulb.. If the tail light bulb burns out the ABS computer sees that as a potential safety issue so will turn the dash warning light on then bring the brake light bulb on at reduced brightness to act as the tail light..

You usually can’t tell by looking in the rear light (brake light half lit looks just like tail light) but have to actually pull the bulb & look at the filaments inside it..

Twisty

The 2007 RT has a pair of single filament bulbs 21w. The system run these at a lower voltage for tail lights then pumps them up to 12v when brake light is needed, If you have one of the rear bulbs gone, you can tell my looking, tho there should also be the warning on the dash indicating a blown bulb.

How do I know...

Aside from RTM,

I'm still wondering if my auxilary LED brake light will work if I wire it into the +ve of the tail/barke light bulb. LED's need the full 12v as I understand it so in my mind I think it'll work. Only one way to prove it tho.

hth

\v/

NobbyV4, yep, you are correct.. I had just come over form the oilhead forum & while my finger came over obviously my mind didn’t.. For some reason I thought 1150RT not 1200 RT..