IGNORED

idling problem

davisjj

I suddenly started having idling problems with my 2002 K1200RS w/36K miles. It starts fine cold and idles normally until I ride it 10 or 15 minutes. Then it dies immediately when I release the throttle. I can only keep it running at a stop light, etc. by keeping the throttle open, and then it smells like it is running rich. It seems to be running perfectly at highway speeds. Is there anything obvious I can check before I take it in to the dealer?

ShovelStrokeEd

Vacuum line going from the throttle bodies to the fuel pressure regulator. I'm working with way out of date information here as the last K I had my hands in was my K100 turbo. There used to be one though and its function was to lean out the motor under idle, higher vacuum = less fuel pressure. If yours has cracked or fallen off, that could be the issue. Sure sounds like it.

Dennis Andress

I'm still learning my K12 but the vacuum lines are quite different from a K100. All the same, Look for lose or broken vacuum lines around the throttle bodies. Follow the lines to the charcol canister.

-Did it start happening all of a sudden, or did your idle deteriorate progressively until motor died?

-Do you have a dash light?

-What altitude are you at?

Well, let's analyze the situation with the information at hand. It's not the pressure regulator since it doesn't have a vacuum input (mixture changes are done by ECU), and bike is working fine otherwise. We can also eliminate injectors, fuel filter, fuel quality, plugs, coils, etc. A vacuum line leak results in a high idle (1.5K rpm); another common problem, but not yours.