IGNORED

Having problems...

Knifemaker

Knifemaker

First I will say I am not good at expressing sounds a bike maybe making...so that I apologize for..So away we go.......

Noticing some starting problems lately on my 05 R1150R...

Push starter button and starter motor engages but may not fire motor on first try...Try again and the starer motor or engine makes a terrible clunck sound before it starts motor...motor may or may not backfire... (this entire sequence may or may not happen each time)...

Next.....When the bike finally starts running the bike may or may not cut out one me until warm even with choke lever open.

When running bike runs very well except a slight hesitation when rolling on the throttle quickly after backing off the throttle...

Last problem....Never heard this on my bike before...When I stopped Sunday to fill up the tank...When I unlocked the gas tank the tank sounded like I had released a vaccumm when it was opened....

Any suggestions on these problems are welcomed... By the was a full service was done on this bike less than 2000 miles ago including valve adj. and throttle body sync.

Bill, not sure this is your only problem but one of your problems sounds like you have a plugged emission evap canister,, or a plugged or pinched fuel tank vent.. Either of the mentioned will not allow proper fuel tank venting & therefore won’t allow proper fuel flow to the injection system..

I guess repair the fuel tank venting first then see if you still have starting or engine running problems..

If you are tree hugger type the you might need to spend a fair amount of money replacing your evap system canister (black can hanging off the rear of the bike).. If you are not a tree hugger type then you can simply remove the evap system & route the tank vent directly to atmosphere.. Some countries didn’t require that evap can so some BMW’s came as original without it..

Twisty