IGNORED

Bridgestone BT-016 on R1200ST - Long Term REPORT

jaytee

LONG TERM REPORT OF BT-016's ON R1200ST

I originally wrote up my initial impressions on the BT-016's here: Bridgestone Battleaxe BT-016 on R1200ST - REVIEW

First some particulars:

Quoted from the original review:

When deciding on a replacement tire for my PR2's, I was primarily interested in a more 'sport' than 'touring' tire. I considered the Pilot Powers, which I have had on a Suzuki SV1000S, and I have ridden on friends R1, GSXR600 and FZ-6. But I liked the concept of this tire, and hope that the life of the tire will be livable.

Rider:

I am an moderately skilled rider who tends to ride a bit conservatively, although I like to accelerate hard and can lean the bike over well enough to occasionally touch down a toe if I have good sight-lines. I have had the bike for two years now, and I have put nearly 20,000 miles on it. I have been riding intensively now for the past 6+ years (after a 14 year break) with over 80,000 miles on my bikes in everything from lane-splitting socal commuting to tight, aggressive mountain riding.

Tire Pressures:

Front - 35psi

Rear - 37psi

w/ 40lbs of bags

Front - 36psi

Rear - 40psi

Initial Impressions:

Quick tires, low noise, lots of grip, great price, stable on highway

0-1000 miles

* Riding Conditions: dusty SoCal winter desert roads (OrtegaHW, Warner Springs, Temecula), coastal cruises

* Initial impressions largely hold as I get used to the quicker turn-in (compared to PR2's)

* Rare tire slippage due to crappy winter roads (sand in the corners)

1000-3500 miles

* Riding Conditions: double duty commuting plus dusty desert roads but the mountains are opening up now (ACH, Arrowhead, Lake Silverwood, Idylwild)

* Gradual initial loss in profile does not affect turn-in or transitional grip

* Panic stop nearly throws me through the windscreen (PR2 would have triggered ABS)

* Confidence inspires new agressive riding, begin planning NorCal trip