IGNORED

z6 tires

taters

help! i have a 2004 r1150 rt which is my first bike. i put a set of z6 tires on 7800 miles ago. the front tire tread is 3/32 to 4/32 and the rear is 4/32 to 5/32. i measured close to the center of the tire. a friend of mine looked at my front tire and said you have some cupping but it is not bad. i said i am going to replace both tires . he said i was nuts and that i had at least 3-4000 more miles left on the tires. he said you have plenty of tread. he also rides a harley with a t-shirt and a beanie so i don't trust his judgement. but i am new to all of this, any thoughts would be appreciated. i made an appointment for next week to get another set of z6s thanks taters

ShovelStrokeEd

Might want to rethink your opinion of your buddy. Despite his choice in safety gear it sounds like he knows a hell of a lot more about tires than you. Keep riding, when tread depth gets down to around 1/16" or so you might want to think about at least ordering a set of tires. Watch the rear with that Z6, since they have no tread in the center, you might get down to cord before the treaded section even starts to show much wear. 8 to 10K on a rear is about average around here I think. At least on an 1150 with its wider rim and tire as compared to 1100's.

there is no doubt that i know little about tires . this is my first bike. thats the reason for the post . for advice.how bad a threat is cupping? thanks all

there is no doubt that i know little about tires . this is my first bike. thats the reason for the post . for advice.how bad a threat is cupping? thanks all