IGNORED

Need to purge Fuel Injection after Filter Change ?

Great White North

Great White North

I have a new-to-me '06 R1100RT, just carried out my first fuel filter change. I am not new to mechanical maintenance, but I am new to this whole BMW world.

I have a few questions:

1. Is there a need to purge the Fuel Injection system for air bubbles after filter change? The bike has yet to run steadily after this job, and I tried quite a few times. It will 'sometime' start, but only runs for 5-10 seconds...

When I turn the ignition on, I can hear the fuel pump starting up, then stopping (as per normal), but then the pump sometimes starts again (before engine starts) and I hear what sounds like a scratching noise coming from the throttle body of left side. (I know, I know, the gremlins are trying to scratch their way out... :-)

Anyways, I did disconnect the fuel lines at each injector and turn on the ignition to ensure fuel was coming out, no probleme there.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks !

Is this an '06 R1200RT or an older R1100RT? I'm confused because there is no user replaceable fuel filter on an R1200RT and the R1100RT was discontinued in 2001.

There is no purge needed, or even possible.

During the 5-10 seconds that it does run, does it run/idle normal?

Great White North

Sorry folks, the RT is '96 (they should not put that 0 and 9 so close together on that keyboard... :-)

To answer your question, During the run time, the engine only runs if I keep the throttle slightly open, it will not idle on its own.

Also, It does not start on first attempt neither, unless I turn the ignition on/off a few times first - can't explain that one. I will take the tank / pump apart again this evening to ensure all is hooked up properly, and nothing is binding inside the tank.

M.

Great White North

... AND I now realize I was in a different thread reading up on other postings when I posted this item, (Rookie's mistake !)