IGNORED

How tight should feeler gauge be during valve check?

jblaze5779

While checking my valves on my new to me 2004 1150rt I noticed that the appropriate feeler gauge for each set of valves was able to be inserted but was very, very tight.

From what I've read in my research, there should be a light tug on the gauge... I felt like I was forcing it in there and yanking it out. Should they be that tight or are they fine as long as I can get it in there? The next larger size gauge could not be inserted into the the space.

What are the implications of the valves being too tight?

Thanks for your help.

My years of working alongside fitters has told me that you should feel a light scraping fit.(small resistance when inserting and removal) Don't force them.

As for having the gaps too small or too large, i'm no mechanic so i will let others answer that one. I believe burnt valves could be a sympton of overly tight clearances?

Perhaps someone more enlightend than me should comment.

Cheers

Steve

I read somewhere that it should feel as smooth as stroking a butter knife through a stick of room temperature butter. Anyway, that's the advise I follow and it's worked for me for over 50k miles.

John Dickens

A 'light sliding fit' is how I've always heard it but a while back, as a present, I was given a set of 'stepped' feeler gauges (go, no-go) where each blade has two sizes, eg 0.011"/0.013".

These are brilliant.

If you are setting a 0.012" gap you use the 0.011"/0.013" gauge and if the 0.011" goes in but the 0.013" doesn't then you are there.

My approach is to make sure I don't have to push hard to get them in there, but they should be tight enough that I can let it dangle on it's own without falling to the floor. That has always been a very simple and easy way to get them consistent.

ElevenFifty

Just a bit of 'sticktion' ... I use two .030 and two .015 guages ... the short ones with a plastic handle are my favorites.