IGNORED

Valve stem longevity

Dave in Doodah

Dave in Doodah

Sorry if this has been addressed previously. I have been riding bias ply tires for the last 20 years and always have run tubes. Change a tire - change the tube.

Now I will be replacing radial tires. What are your feelings on how often to replace the valve stems? I can't imagine they need to be replaced at each tire change...?

Thanks much in advance.

Sorry if this has been addressed previously. I have been riding bias ply tires for the last 20 years and always have run tubes. Change a tire - change the tube.

Now I will be replacing radial tires. What are your feelings on how often to replace the valve stems? I can't imagine they need to be replaced at each tire change...?

Thanks much in advance.

I change mine every tyre change - I bought a bag of 100 from an online tyre fitting supply co for a couple of pounds - works out at pennies each.

In the UK all commercial tyre fitting outfits replace the stem every time - probably for liability reasons.

From the Conti website:

The most important safety rules for motorcycle tyres

Observe specified minimum air pressure. (See motorcycle owner´s manual)

Check inflation pressure, and adjust if necessary, on every refuelling stop

Do not exceed maximum load capacity. (See motorcycle registration papers)

Avoid impact strain (E.g. curbstones)

Check tyres regularly for signs of damage

Never ride on tyres with less than 2mm tread depth (More is better)

Only buy specified tyres. Handling characteristics can only be optimized through proper tyre fitment

Use the right inner-tubes to match the tyres (if necessary). New tubes for new tyres

Make sure valve caps are fitted. New valve for new tubeless tyre

Only use specified rims in perfect condition. Specialty rims require special approval

Only have tyres fitted by a skilled tyre fitter

From the Dunlop website:

TUBELESS VALVES

When fitting new tubeless tyres, a new valve should also be fitted.