IGNORED

New member thinking about another bike

Rhys

Been looking this sight over for a day or two, and figured I shuld go ahead and join in. First a little background. I'm 30 married and a gunsmith by trade. Started riding bikes when I was about 6 or 7, and rode motocross and enduro until I was about 17. the last bike I had was a Kawasaki KLR650 that I sold about 2 years ago. I'm looking at getting another bike, and the wife has one requirement. Has to be able to go 2 up comfortably, the KLR deffinately didn't fit that bill. Heck 1 up on the highway for more than about 30 minutes and I was ready to get off it. Dad has ridden BMWs for as long as I can remember, and is still riding his '86 K75C. Just a year or so ago I wouldn't have even looked at a BMW " They're old guy bikes" let alone anything that even suggested touring.

Knowing the luck dad has had with BMWs in the past I'm looking toward either an R1150RT or K1200GT as those are the 2 the wife leaned toward the most. (think it had somothing to do with the heated seats on the RT) Now to my question. From a performance, and maintanance standpoint is there any real benefit to either the R or K motors compared to the other?

Welcome. Both a great bikes, but there are significant differences in seating positions and passenger protection. Make sure the wife tries out both bikes before making a decision.

From a servicing standpoint, the RT is far more user-serviceable. The GT isn't. If you plan on doing your own work, the RT is way easier to work on. Plus, you have resources like this site to serve as a fountain of knowledge. If you plan on going to the dealer for regular service, the GT's services actually tend to be lower than the RTs.

Lets see:

K --- more power, smoother, much higher top speed. Slightly less comfortable. Looks OK. You know you will be seeing how fast it goes and it goes fast enough to be real dangerous IMHO.