IGNORED

Advice on renting bike in Germany (and touring)

Mike O

Lucky enough to be traveling to Germany late June and am entertaining renting a bike for the weekend. I'm looking for any experiences, advice, recommendations, etc. as I want to make sure I get everything lined up before I get there. For example, will I need any sort of special endorsement? What about insurance? It'll just be me (Bernie can't make this trip...maybe next time)

FWIW, I'll be motor-biking out of Hamburg and looking to travel south to the town where I was born (haven't been there in... well a lonngggg time) and west to Berlin where I used to live. Any other places that are worthwhile for a day trip?

Thanks in advance...

Mike O

Francois_Dumas

Hi Mike,

the BMW dealer in Hamburg is here: http://www.stuedemann.de/index1.htm

They rent bikes too, see 'Vermietung'.

That's where I would go.

If you don't mind brand and type, then this may be interesting as well: http://www.qrental.com/

I have no experience with either of them.

As for endorsement: you'll need a valid driving license with 'motorcycle endorsement' on it. International drivers licenses are the best (but I don't think mandatory anymore). You can get them in the US before leaving.

When renting from an official renting company or dealer, the bike will be insured. You will need separate personal insurance covering for theft, accidents (damage to others) and health care of course.

How far south is your town of birth? Somewhere near Siegen or Giessen as I seem to remember?

Bill... Thanks for the book pointer. Not seen that book before.

Francois... I'm not tied to a particular brand, although I might like to try an 800cc class as I'm not looking to do LONG distances. Good advice to contact MY insurance agent here in the U.S.