IGNORED

The Ancient and the Modern: Joe's New Ride

Joe Frickin' Friday

Joe Frickin' Friday

516747480_5dCtv-M.jpg

Last Thursday, April 16, was the tenth anniversary of the purchase of my R1100RT. That's me up above, not quite 29 years old, sitting on a bike I had been obsessing over for the prior six months. Since that time, it has literally and metaphorically taken me to a lot of places. Coast to coast, high mountain peaks, hot desert sun, blinding snowstorms, through emotional highs and lows, and everyplace in between. It was on this bike that I really learned how to ride, learned the true satisfaction of wrenching on my own ride, and met a whole group of similarly weird people I never would have met if I had picked some other bike. :wave:

With apologies to Mr. Garcia, "what a long, strange trip it's been." The 1100 still has some life left in it, but I'm ready for a new horse. On Saturday - 10 years and 2 days after that long, strange trip began - the new horse arrived:

515311902_YW7Lx-M.jpg

The 1100RT was pretty hot stuff ten years ago, but it's impressive what ten years of development gets you. 6% weight reduction, 20% power gain, 20% improvement in fuel economy. Cruise control! How the hell did I ride cross-country for ten years without cruise control?!?!?

Unfortunately BMW has not made big gains in saddle technology; the 1200's stock seat is as vague and uncomfortable as it was on my 1100. I will be shopping for an aftermarket saddle very soon.

The styling of the 1100 is what initially turned my head ten years ago. I'm slightly less enthused about the 1200's visage, but I expect I'll grow into it.

515311487_F5onM-M.jpg

So I took the plunge, that's the good news. The bad news is that it's too close to BRR; I haven't had a chance to transfer accessories yet, and of course with only about 75 miles on it the 1200 isn't nearly broken in yet. The 1100 gets one final road trip, and after that, it'll be sent to a good home.

Joe Frickin' Friday