IGNORED

How do you brake bleed on 1200 non servor hexheads

KDeline

I asked this about 8 months ago, did not seem to get a definite answer. Now it's time to bleed. On the 2007 GSA non servo bikes can you just bleed them like the old airheads and the early oilheads? I assume since there are no servos anymore you just put new brake fluid in the reseviors, pump the levers and bleed at the caliper base? Anybody done it yet?

How timely! I've been looking for pictures/video of the procedure myself. On our 07 GSA I know we just have the one circuit so bleeding is supposed to be as simple as it could possible get BUT I've never done it before so I was hoping to find an example of someone executing the procedure.

I have the new (non servo) system on my GT and will change the brake fluid for the first time this summer. BMW requires a brake fluid change after the first year of service and then every two years going forward.

Below is a summary based on the current BMW manual. It is a summary for someone who has experience in bleeding brakes and understands the basic steps in performing maunal brake bleeding/brake fluid replenishment.

Brake Fluid Change Summary (Front Brakes)

1. Set the brake lever to maximum span.

2. Remove the reservoir cover and draw off the old fluid.

3. Clean the reservoir.

4. Remove the brake pads from the calipers.

5. Force the caliper pistons back into the bore (bmw tool or shim them like we do).

6. Draw off the fluid in the reservoir.

7. Fill the reservoir with DOT 4 to the Max level.

8. Connect bleeding hose to the bleed screw at the master cylinder--located to the left and below the resevoir, open the screw and begin bleeding the master cylinder.

9. Bleed until clean fluid emerges and close the bleed screw.. Do not let the fluid in the resevoir drop so low that it exposes the replenishment hole (that would be a bad thing). By the way, I am going to use a manual bleeding method vs.vacum extraction.