IGNORED

Confessions and questions of a new 'rencher!

RAH01

I have NO experience with things mechanical, but have acquired the desire to learn.

Last year I attended, as an observer, an unofficial tech daze near Louisville and came away believing that I could learn to do my own maintenance. A move to Colorado and other things intervened, but I kept reading this board and gathering tools. This is the week! My 2000 R1100RT is due for its 18,000 mile servicine. Monday evening, I changed the oil - and felt very satified. Last evening I started to do my first valve adjustment, following Valve Adjustment for Dummies. I finished the task this evening, and have some questions.

1. VAD suggests removing the cover from the front of the engine block and finding TDC by turning a nut at the bottom. I got the screws holding the cover out, but COULD NOT get the cover out from among the various pipes, etc. I put it back and resorted to turning the rear wheel. What a task! How do you get that cover out?

2. After completion of the valve adjustment, I started the RT. Started right up. I really believe that at low idle it runs a little smoother. However, at idle, there is the faintest "rattle." The Tupperware is still off and I am being hyper attentive. The rattle (remember, it is very faint) seemed to be coming from the throttle bodies, or very near there. Oil pressure good, plenty of oil. It seemed to me it could be normal engine sounds that I just don't hear when the bike is put back together, but I just don't know. Thoughts? Things I should be concerned about?

Tomorrow I try synching the throttle bodies. The goal is to have all completed to ride the Colorado 100,000' ride on Saturday.

Thanks for your comments, and for all the things I have learned about my bike and motorcycling in general from reading this board.

Re: #1

On mine, you need to remove the "sharkfin" to drop the cover.

Re: #2

Do the TB sync before you come to any conclusions about the "rattle."