IGNORED

New To BMW's what to look for in a used BMW

DKR

Hello All!

I'm going to be a new BMW owner one of these days (as soon as I find a bike) and would like to get some honest feedback from you BMW owners out there. I'm looking at 2004 and earlier RT's since the styling, size fit and need all seem to be best met by this bike for my current and future riding needs.

But what I'd like to hear from all of you is the good, the bad and the ugly about your experiences, problems (if any) or what to look for in a clean used BMW purchase.

Thank you one and all for all of you input and advice.

Damon

I'm still a newb (1999 R1100RT, February 2008), but here's my two cents.

Service records, service records, service records. Check for rear wheel movement by grabbing the rear wheel and rocking side to side, at 12:00 and 3:00. If there is any movement, find a way to jam the rear brake on, then check again. If it still wiggles, the pivot bearings are worn, not the final drive. Replacing worn pivot bearings is not a big deal.

Go for a ride. If you're still interested, and unless it has immaculate service records, get gear oil (at your cost), and change the gearbox and final drive oil. Look for metallic sheen in the oil, and bits of metal on the drain plug magnets. A small amount of fine powdery residue on the magnets is OK; bits and chunks are not.

My R1100RT came with Öhlins shocks, Sargent seat, Throttlemeister, aftermarket windscreen, and brakelight modulator, all of which increased the price, but reduced the amount of time and money effort I had to make to spend it work the way I want. I have no comparison with stock suspension, but I can honestly say that the Öhlins give this the best ride I have ever experienced.

DKR,