IGNORED

A Couple of Questions

Bob McKee

I've been riding BMWs for years now, but I'm still a newbie when it comes to my '08 R1200RT (3000 miles), so I'd like to pose two questions.

1. In temps of 50 degrees F and below, on first start-up (which usually takes at least three tries), the cruise control sometimes goes out. It's lit up initially, but goes out after cranking a couple of times. It always comes back by shutting the bike down and restarting. Today, however, the cruise control came back again after a restart, but it then would lose power again when I hit the rear brake--not the front brake, but the rear. After riding for a few minutes, I shut the bike down, started it again, and for the rest of the ride it was fine--cruise control working just as it should.

Any thoughts?

2. I know this has been discussed--found talk of it in the archives, but for fear of frying the bike's brains, I just have to ask before I do it.

I've decided to hook my Battery Tender Plus directly to the battery. I've read somewhere--maybe the owner's manual--that the battery should be unhooked from the bike before you do this. I know there is at least one person on this board who leaves the battery hooked up when he's charging with the BT. That's the way I'd like to do it if it's safe. It would make those quick winter rides we sometimes get to steal here in Wyoming a lot easier. Is there a consensus on this? Do

I dare leave the battery hooked up during a trickle charge?

Thanks for any help.

Bob

I've been riding BMWs for years now, but I'm still a newbie when it comes to my '08 R1200RT (3000 miles), so I'd like to pose two questions.