IGNORED

Two printers, two computers?

PNWBeemer

Hi All,

I have zero network experience but I would like to be able to print to either one of two printers (inkjet or laser) from two different computers in my house. Both printers are USB and both computers are connected to a wireless router for internet access. I'm not really looking to network the computers, just want to be able to print without switching USB cables around (what a PITA!).

For what it's worth, all of this hardware is in the same room.

What is the best way to accomplish this? Is there a way to use some sort of a router or hub? Neither printer is wireless, BTW.

Yeah, I know I could look elsewhere but there is so much collective wisdom here! Thanks a bunch!

Steve

If you'd network the printers, via your wireless router, it's simply a matter of adding the printer wired to computer A to computer B (when you go to add a new printer, select network printer), and vice versa. The print que will then be through the router. You must enable everything to be shared. No extra wires or swapping necessary.

I do this with four computers, and four printers, but it is through a wired router.

Hi Bryant,

Okay, I think I follow what you are saying. With that setup, would one computer (acting as a server) have to be on in order to print/send from another computer?

Any helpful "how-to" guides out there to walk me through this step with Windows XP Home?

You could also add a wireless printer server. I think they cost ~$40. Then each printer gets it's own IP address. No worries of either computer being powered just to print to the printer.

skinny_tom (aka boney)
Hi All,