IGNORED

Does anyone use Skype?

barryNmarin

barryNmarin

I'm not a huge techie but my daughter is moving to Africa with her company for a 2 year term and I'm told Skype is a great and free way to have live voice (VOIP) conversations computer to computer or even computer to mobile phone for a small charge. So I downloaded the software to my Mac and it seems to work flawlessly even with video.

My son us using it to stay in touch with his friends in Japan.

I was wondering if people on the board are using Skype to avoid expensive long distance charges for U.S. and international calls and what experiences have you had either pro or con? I suppose bandwidth is important for quality calls and video calls and that could be a big problem in Kenya.

russell_bynum

I use it a bit. You can call toll-free numbers free, so I use it to call into conference calls quite often. We've played with video a little bit, but haven't really used it for real. We use the IM feature from time to time.

Bandwidth does matter, but so far I haven't had any problems.

Joe Frickin' Friday

My mom started using it a couple of years ago. At first it was terrible; the sound was garbled and often dropped out altogether. Whenever she called me on it, I'd hang up and call her land line.

Last Christmas was different. We used Skype on her laptop to call my brother on his laptop. Used a headset, and holy cow, it was flawless quality. No interruptions or glitching or long-distance "hiss," and the bandwidth was something a lot closer to full spectrum, like listening to an FM radio broadcast.

Me? I use my cell phone for LD calls; the minutes are already paid for, so I figure I might as well use them instead of also paying for a LD plan on our land line.

Skype is Worthy