IGNORED

Has car design really come to this?

Lone_RT_rider

Lone_RT_rider

I am sitting here this morning, up way too early I might add, while watching the show Autoline on the Speed Channel. Autoline was "on location" in Los Angeles at a design studio. They had a panel of American born Japanese car Designers (not to be confused with Design Engineers) and the subject at hand was the "driving experience".

One of the Designers, probably around the age of early thirties made a statement that really took my by surprise. He said something to the effect of "We are really working hard to integrate the entire driving experience of music, texting, cell phones and e-mail into the vehicle".

Ok, back the truck up here! He wasn't stating that he needed to safely integrate these things into the driving experience; he was stating that they ARE the driving experience. Even at this early hour that almost knocked me off the couch. I work in the auto industry and have for 15 years and this still took my by surprise. I know that people have been a bit un-ashamed at the fact that piloting a vehicle has taken a back seat to everything else they would rather be doing, but has it really come to the point where the focus of driving, even at the design level is no longer driving?

Shawn

From what I've observed on the road, even on my round trip to Tallahassee yesterday, driving has become a "virtual" experience. :mad:

Why don't we add a couple of video games to the mix to complete the experience, or we can link cars by bluetooth for online multi player gaming as we run down the road.

Think about the possibilities, playing grand theft auto in real time on real roads. The possibilities are just mind boggling!!!!

lawnchairboy

hasn't Ford/Microsoft already integrated voice/blue tooth control of phone/music/text messaging into their products on the showroom floor now? can't remember the name of it right now...