IGNORED

GPS---------What do you want to see??

Dances_With_Wiener_Dogs

Dances_With_Wiener_Dogs

We're working on the GPS for the Un. What do you want to see? Complete loops starting and ending in John Day or individual segments for you to put together? Rides will be of different lengths of course, both for the paved and UnPaved. I'm a GPS noob, so I don't know how easy it is to manipulate. I guess we could also give you waypoints of individual points of interest. Such-and-Such Lookout Tower for example.

Thoughts and Comments?

Paul_Burkett

For those of us that have never been to JD, relying on people that have spent time traveling the area and know the best scenic roads and points of interest is crucial. At UN-4 in Gunnison there were about 17 routes, some were off road and the rest were pavement, but the theme was to find a point of interest and map a route there. The nice part of this is that the routes could be linked together so that one route will take you out and another or several placed together will get you back to the HQ, which every one knows is "the camping area". By downloading all of the routes onto the GPS, you can look at a route list and push the enter button and go to the next location. I hope that this helps.

Dances_With_Wiener_Dogs

Based on the following map, let me ask a question in clarification.

There are several loops that share common routes. The JD-Ukiah-Heppner-Spray-Dayville-JD for example shares the JD-Long Creek portion. I can imagine that some folks would prefer to hang a left at that point, going through Monument.

So would it be best to list segments, that also reference to a paper map so that people can choose what they want to see that day?

JD-Long Creek. Long Creek-Ukiah. Long Creek-Monument-Kimberly. Spray-Kimberly.

Then people can join the segments as it suits them?

Have a look and see if what I've asked makes sense:

309683489_XN4JB-XL.jpg

Paul_Burkett