IGNORED

p.t.o. generator

Lawman

I live in a very rural area and often lose power to my home. I'd like to purchase a p.t.o. generator that I could power with my 72 pto horsepower tractor. I'm not sure how to get the power from the generator to my breaker box so I'll get an electrician to put a switch of some type that I can hook to at the breaker box. I have no experience with generators so I'm looking for suggestions of what brand and what model to buy. Assuming I buy the largest generator that a 70 pto tractor can easily power I'd like to know if I could power the following.. 1 refrigerator, 1 chest freezer, 1 electric hot water heater, 1 small window room 110 volt air conditioner, house lights, t.v. and of course my computer? Actually I could turn off the hot water heater when I needed to power the air conditioner..

I wouldn't be surprised if by the time you bought all the PTO hardware plus a generator head that you wouldn't be near the same dollars (or more) as just purchasing a standalone generator. Not sure about that though, maybe there might be some money to be saved. The water heater is going to be the toughie, those can draw a lot of current. Without the water heater an 8-10kw generator should be more than enough, but with... bigger. The only way to know for sure is to add up the wattage of all the devices (should be marked on them somewhere) and add about 25%.

How long are your power outages? Measured in hours per year or days? That will also have a lot to do with what kind of unit you choose.

How long are your power outages? Measured in hours per year or days? That will also have a lot to do with what kind of unit you choose.

I would use it on average of once or twice a year for anywhere from 1 day to 1 week or longer in the event of a hurricane or large wind event...

The drawback to a stand alone unit is the upkeep and maintenance of another engine..I like the idea of only a generator that will not require maintenance between uses..