IGNORED

bicycle trainer item

randy

ok, time to meet reality. I have gained XXXX pounds in the last 6 years. To much time spent at the office, raising kids and just not doing the right thing.

I have a treadmill, and I have started walking. However I have a very nice old street bike. I want to buy one of those contraptions that your rear wheel mounts in and you basically make your bike a stationary bike.

Any suggestions on good models. Remember I am just a fat old person looking for some low impact (need to save my knees) good workout. I have a nice basement and plan on setting it up down there. I watch NBA games about 3 times a week, so while I am watching the game I plan on riding or walking during the game.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

thanks, I was looking at the 150.00 range. I am no professional bike rider, so just a basic unit will do. the one you posted to looks like it is on sale for 170.00. I could do that, thanks.

whatever trainer you get also mount a big ass fan in front of bike w/ towel underneath you. used trainers religiously back in the "day" for short, intense workouts. my real advice is to ride outside...way more freakin fun!

yea, but if you ride outside you cannot kill two birds with one stone. I only get to watch about 4 hours of TV a week. 3 NBA games, and 1 race. I have 60 pounds to get rid of, and 4 times a week on my treadmill is to hard on the knees. So I plan on riding the bike for 30 minutes - 40 minutes and then hoping on over to the treadmill for 20 minutes, 3 - 4 times a week. Along with a diet change, I am hoping for 5 pounds per month.

I have a Cycleops Magneto Trainer:

117.jpg123.jpg