IGNORED

Any Canon Powershot S5IS or G9 users out there?

George Brown

George Brown

I have been using an early Canon ELPH (S100 - 2.1 megapixels) for several years and have been holding off purchasing a more powerful digital camera in hopes the SLR’s would come down in price.

On the 35mm side, I have been using a Canon Rebel for about 10 years with two auto-focus Canon zoom lens: a 28-105mm (f1:3.5-4.5) and a 75-300mm (f1:4-5.6). Combined, these two lens meet my needs. I also have a Canon 550EX Speedlight. Having 5 grandchildren, who seem to have frequent school programs, etc, I use the speed light a lot. It really throws the light out.

I had been thinking of buying a digital Rebel XT body only (or, more recently the XTi) and continue to use my lenses. Recently I learned the Rebels do not use a full frame mat and hence a 1.7 conversion factor is required to use the 35mm lenses. Applying the CF turns my 28-105mm lens into a 47-175mm lens thereby eliminating it’s use for wide angle shots. I shoot a lot of wide angle photos for family parties, etc.

So, if I want to stay in the Canon SLR family I either have to buy a Rebel and an additional lens or move up to the EOS level SLR’s, which cost more than I want to spend. To move to another brand's SLR family would mean new lenses and flash.

This has got me looking at the Powershot S5IS or G9. The 35mm film equivalent of S5IS’ lens is 35-432mm and the G9’s is 35-210 mm. The G9 falls short on both ends of the range to what I have now and the S5 exceeds the long end but falls short on the wide angle end. I could probably live with the difference of the S5 as for years I used a 35mm wide angle lens for group shots.

Both the S5 and the G9 have a hot shoe, so I will still be able to use my Speedlight – even though it will weigh more than the camera.

Any thoughts on either of these cameras will be appreciated - especially if anyone has any first hand experience with either of them.

TIA