IGNORED

contact lenses

taters

i am thinking about getting contact lenses. is it possible to get a pair that breathes and keeps your eyes moist? and are comfortable to wear all the time? or am i expecting to much?if not what brand do you reccomend? thanks taters

skinny_tom (aka boney)

It depends on you. i used Acuvue Oasys (they spell it wrong) for a year and thought they were pretty good. I tried Day & Night lenses a couple of years ago and never went back. They fit me better and stay in better.

Comfort is way too subjective to assess here, but a good optometrist or opthamologist should let you try several brands/models to get the right fit and comfort. FWIW, I've been wearing J&J Acuvues for ~14 years and they've been great.

Maintaining moisture can be a real challenge, particularly with riding and other outdoor activities. My eyes and lenses are sensitive to breezes and air movement. So, I wear sunglasses most of the time when I'm outdoors, and almost always under my helmet. As the post above mentions, interchangeable lenses are very useful. I've got 2 pairs of Bolle Vigilante sunglasses, with gray, clear and vermillion lenses that I can change to suit almost any light condition. Love 'em. Even so, I keep a bottle of re-wetting drops in my tank bag (and desk drawer, and glove boxes in our cars, golf bag, motorhome, etc.) because dry lenses can be a real PITA.

Aluminum_Butt

I've worn contacts every day for nearly 30 years. No problems. Always comfortable for 16 hours a day...can start to get uncomfortable after that. I am more sensitive than most people to blowing dust, though, and that can cause issues on the bike.

I'd never go back to glasses, though if money were no object I'd probably get corrective surgery because of the convenience.