IGNORED

How your tax money is being spent

pbbeck

I am a public school teacher who takes his job very seriously. Most teachers I have known and worked with do, as well. It bugs me when my time is being wasted, like when I am pulled out of the classroom for a "planning" meeting.

The photo below shows the culminating product of SIX HOURS of a so-called "planning" meeting. At this meeting, four teachers (not me) were pulled from their classrooms, four subs had to be paid, and all so this nonsensical crap could be written on poster paper. It represents a mission statement for some new program our principal is forcing on our school. If you can tell me what this garbage means, please let me know. Our principal was pleased with this outcome. Damn, this makes me angry. Just thought you ought to know how your tax dollars are being spent.

pyp.jpg

Obviously, I wasn't there, but it sounds like you'll be spending time convincing kids to take some ownership for the outcome.

meetings.jpg

Meetings are one of those necessary evils with any job. For the most part, they don't produce results immediately and they sometimes push people out of their comfort zones

What is the significance of the colors?

Yes, but there are pretty colors in the mission statement. How can that be wrong? [/sarcasm]

So, someone actually sat there, took the lid off of a marker, wrote one word, put the marker down, took the lid off marker b, wrote one word, put the marker down, took the lid off marker c, wrote one word, picked up the first marker... etc until the statement was finished eh? Or was this done with three different people where each person took turns choosing and writing a word and seeing what kind of mission statement they could come up with?

And you have an abbreviation in your mission statement? Nice touch.