IGNORED

GPS power cable

SteveHebert

I have had a hodge podge connection for my SPIII for some time now and am trying to get it simplified. What I have been using is the cig. lighter adapter and an SAE connection on the end with the self stick electrical tape covering the cig lighter to receptacle union. Power is not constant though and when I wiggle the connection I loose GPS power.

I have cut the cig adapter off the cord and soldered an in line fuse and then the SAE adapter again. Now I have no power.

The big question is this: Is the GPS cord a positive ground? I simply attached the same color wire red=red and black to white.

I wanted to ask the collective before taking it apart today a trying the reverse.

I forgot to mention that I am not an electrician nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

ShovelStrokeEd

Steve,

It is not likely that the GPS uses positive ground. That pretty much went out with the '60's British cars.

The easy way to do this is to pick up the direct wire connector from Garmin and then just wire it into your battery.

Did you check the inline fuse you installed? New does not necessarily mean it is good.

Jerry Johnston

Ed's right on the money. None of the GPS's I've owned were positve ground and some if not protected by a diode can be damaged by reversed polarity. Use a small 12v light bulb for a meter (better yet a LED light because it won't work with reversed polarity) and check the wires you soldered to to make sure you have voltage.

Thanks Ed and Jerry.

Can I just use this cig lighter one that I have with the end cut off and soldier some connectors to it for the battery? I thought that the foil wrapping/insulation around the black and red wires might be an issue.

I used the fuse that was in the cig lighter plug and assumed it was fine since it had sporadic power before I cut the line.