IGNORED

What is under your butt?

eddd

Stock or Aftermarket   

645 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Aftermarket seats seem to be high on many riders "must have" list. Got me to wondering how many are still riding with the stock seat vs an aftermarket.

I still have my stock seat and have no real issues with it, even after an 1100 mile day. I think part of that is my mountain biking. A butt that can take 100 miles in a day on a mountain bike seat can surely find comfort on a stock seat. blush.gif

I've been riding on nothing but Russell Day-Long Saddles for the past 15 years. There are other good saddles out there. There is only one that delivers me the long-distance comfort I'm looking for.

My combo of a Sargent and an Alaska Leather Buttpad got me through a SS1000. I wouldn't have tried that on the stock saddle, or on the Sargent alone.

I answered "aftermarket" because I just got a Sargent low seat for my '07 R1200RT. After a couple of 4-500 mile trips, I am convinced that the stock seat should be banned by the Geneva Convention. I have a trip to Austin (from Colo Springs) planned for next week (850 miles to Austin, another 1000 round trip from Austin to Big Bend National Park from Austin and then the return 850 miles to Colorado Springs). I should have a pretty good idea if I like the new seat by the time I return.

Sargent seat for the RT...but I found a nice gel saddle-pad at an equestrian tack-shop which fits perfectly and adds a lot of comfort.

I've got eBay Corbins on my K bikes.

Rocket_Cowboy

I've got the stock seat, but have used various covers over the seat pretty much since new. I've tried the Aerostich sheepskin pad, the Airhawk seat pad, and now my favorite is the BeadRider headed seat cover.