IGNORED

Rider Class

Hoover

I have been riding off and on for 20 years, much more off than on for the first 15. I stopped riding dirt bikes as a kid about the time I got my first car, and I stopped riding until about 5 years ago. I rediscovered my love for riding about 5 years ago and have been riding very steadily doing about 10,000 miles a year or more since that time.

A few years ago, my wife got tired of being a passenger and wanted to start riding her own motorcycle. Since she had never operated a motorcyle before I insited she take a basic rider course so I did not teach her my habits. She is very appreciative of what that class taught her, but she tells me that even with her class, I use skills that she does not feel she was ever taught.

I want to take a class to improve my skills. I feel like I handle a motorcycle very well, I think I make good choices, and have some riding friends that tell me I can do things on sport bikes, tourers and cruisers that they are pretty sure they can't do. However, it is apparent to me that while I am told this I still have allot to learn. I do not believe that I could pull off the figure 8 in a small box that my wife was required to do to pass her basic rider class. I also think that my cornering and choosing lines at higher speeds (like +20 or more over the posted limit) in a turn needs some work.

I know allot of riders ride at a faster pace constantly, and I typically choose not to, although I do ride that way from time to time, just not for long periods. Not so much because I do not believe in it (although I do believe there is a time and place for everything) it's more about having the skills to do it. I was never actaully taught anything by an "expert", I was just self taught, and perhaps some advice from friends or reading books like Proficient Motorcycling.