IGNORED

Tire inflation - damage?

aal3

It's kind of a long story, but my ended up riding my r12s a few miles with the front tire pressure at 60 and the rear at 80! (Gas station pressure gauge showed about 32 and 35.) Any damage that might have been caused? I put it down to about 32 and 40 and rode about 5 miles, and everything seems ok. Thanks.

I thought the tire manufacturers had to allow the tires to reach 2x the rated pressure without failure.

60psi... no problem. But 80psi? I'm amazed the tire didn't fail. I'm not a tire expert, but I suppose it could have stretched the steel, nylon or polyester belts. I don't know the typical construction of most motorcycle tires.

FYI for puture reference, never trust the gauges on the gas stations. Buy a cheap bicycle pump. It's normally around 5-8 strokes per psi. It's just easier then messing with compressed air.

If you mean that you checked it when you arrived home and the tires were still hot, you should be fine. If you pumped it up to 80 cold and THEN ran it on a hot day for awhile, that could be a bit much.

I used to put 65 psi in big sedans with 60 or 70 series tires in order to run them in Slalon and SOLO events. If you don't you could put wear on the sidewalls halfway to the rim. That means they were showing 85 at the end of a run and the tires said 40 psi max. I recently sold a car that got that treatment repeatedly over 6,000 miles on the tires and they are fine. I wouldn't think a motorcycle would be dramatically different.

I doubt you did any damage. If you are worried about it, then you might visually inspect them a little more often than usual looking for bulging or cracks in the carcass, but you are unlikely to have hurt anything.

Jay

But 80psi? I'm amazed the tire didn't fail. .

I can't even get mine to seat on the rims before 80 psi. You did not hurt them in the least bit.

Survived-til-now