IGNORED

R1100RT VS K1200GT

2wheelunit

I've been riding a 1998 R1100RT for six years and it's now time to update and upgrade. I've been salivating over the K1200GT and it's extra power but was wondering if the extra weight reduces the riding enjoyability in the twisties. My riding goal is to stay off the interstates.

Can anyone answer from their own personal experience?

wrestleantares

This is a tough one, at least IMO.

I PERSONALLY, would rather have your RT (or an 1150) in the twisties than the NEW GT. I have not ridden a 1200RT so cannot comment on it (if that bike is in the running for you).

The GT, IMO, is just too much power. The weight did not bother me as my regular ride is an LT, but the bike itself did not feel as nimble as my RT experience, it has too much power, and for me, it would have to have had ergonomic adjustments.

NOTE: My GT experience was very limited (couple hundred miles) so not really enough time to get super comfortable - and it was someone elses so I wasn't out to ride it hard.

I traded my R1150RT for a K1200GT. They weigh about the same. The RT was prettier. Other than that, the GT is a MUCH better bike. The power is one of the reasons that it's better (and not the only reason.)

I'd schedule a test ride of both and see which one "talks" to you. " lighter" and "more nimble" can be very subjective. If you're more used ot wide bars, you might find a RT much better handling. But if you're more used ot clip-ons the GT might feel better. The GT does have a longer wheelbase, but otherwise I haven't had an opportunity to test ride one myself. I wanted another boxer, and my wife liked the seat and looks of the RT better.

I traded my R1150RT for a K1200GT. They weigh about the same. The RT was prettier. Other than that, the GT is a MUCH better bike. The power is one of the reasons that it's better (and not the only reason.)