IGNORED

Hi all....

catneck

I have been wandering around this site for many months, and am contemplating buying a BMW. I met some of you all at an A & S first aid class last summer. A little background, I am 42, and have had a class M certificate since age 16. Had a few riding years off when the kids were babies in the late 80's, but have had a street bike of 1 kind or another the entire time. I have had a succession of Japanese singles, twins and 4s. And a Sportster for a very short time. Safety class years ago too. Mostly highway commuting, and some touring-most of it lately has been 2-up. The motorcycle is my primary transportation, my truck is on a trickle charger. The wife also has her own bike, but sometimes would rather hop on the back of mine.

I currently ride about 600 miles a week on my DL650. It has a Throttlemeister, Givi-type bags, gel seat, and heated grips. Great bike, just have the itch to get a little more wind protection (less buffeting). And I really want to do away with chain maintenance. I do not travel off road anymore, so touring/sport touring is the way for me. I do not scrape pegs, but am not the slowest in a group either. I think I want electronic cruise control and a heated seat.

I visited A & S last week, and really like the next generation K1200GT. But Oh My the price. $24k is not going to happen.

So I am now deciding between the first generation KGT or an RT. I have always liked the look and feel of the RTP.

Boxer pros: 1) RTP cool. 2) Easier maintenance (I do all my own work save tire mounting). 2) Absolutely perfect riding position.

Boxer cons: 1) Old tech (and this from a guy who rode a couple of KLRs for 70,000 miles).

K1200 pros: 1) Flashy. 2) sophisticated-electronic cruise, and heated seats-winter is cold here in Southern Oregon. 3) Killer styling. 3) That grey green color is stunning. I always buy black bikes, but that color works for me.