IGNORED

R1150RT Demo Ride Comments

RiceToy

I arranged for a demo ride of a 01' BMW R1150RT at BMW of Louisville KY today, and was welcomed by John and crew who were very friendly and helpful.

I would like to get feedback from seasoned BMW riders on some of my impressions. Impressions being relative, it might be helpful to know that I have been riding an 85' Honda Nighthawk 700SC for the past 8 years, having various other bikes over the years both street and dirt. I am wanting to do longer and more comfortable two-up riding, and am looking for a good sport touring steed to eventually ride the 'Grand Tour' around The Grand, Bryce and Zion canyons.

Here are my impressions after a ride on the RT:

Bad things:

1. The engine sounds and feels like it has marbles in it - a grumbly vibration that is minimized by higher RPM. Reminds me of my dad's BSA or one of my old dirt bikes. Dealer said every bike has a sound and feel, which makes sense to me.

2. Flicking the throttle, even while stopped results in a tug of the bike to the right. I'm guessing a result of the 'boxer' engine style.

3. Activating the brakes either by hand or foot results in a steady consistent squeal - even while stopped. Dealer said all BMW's with solenoid linked ABS do that.

4. Noticeable driveline feel and sound. I'm not sure if it is the transmission or the shaft drive, but it seems to change with speed.

Good things:

1. Terrific low end torque, that will have you at highway speeds in seconds.

2. Confidence-inspiring handling around corners.

3. Aerodynamics that provide a very comfortable and steady ride at highway speed.

4. It is immediately apparent that one could ride this bike all day at 90+mph in perfect comfort.

I've become accustomed to my Nighthawk's smooth engine and shaft drive, and the squealing brake solenoid is a deal killer for me.

Have I been spoiled by an 85' Honda? Maybe a K*****GT would be a better fit, do they have squealing brakes too?