IGNORED

New member from Toronto

red1

Hello all,

I have just joined the forum, which looks great, as a new BMW owner. I take delivery of a 2007 R1200RT on Tuesday, and am very excited (to put it mildly)! I have been riding for about 20 years on a variety of bikes, including a few classics (Kawasaki H1, Yamaha RZ350, etc.), but this is my first Beemer bike(I have a 325XIT car). Any tips for a 1st time owner? Any members out there from Southern Ontario?

Red1

Welcome aboard. If you're like me, you'll love your RT. Great for long distance, if that's what turns your crank. I just got back from Utah a couple of weeks ago, and in another two weeks my wife, and I, head to California. Bike's 13 months old, and I've got 33,000+ kms on it. Gotta love that.

Tips? Mmm, do some of your own maintenance, or if, like me, you're ham-fisted, find a good independent BMW tech.

Welcome, congratulations and you've already done the best thing you could do and that is, join this forum. You'll learn from some of the most experienced, travel tested and yes, perverse group of BMW bike afficionados on the Web. Despite the warning, stick around.

Bruce

Congrats, welcome, and +1 on this forum being a treasure trove of useful info.

BTW, what year is your 325xiT? Love my E46 (non-x).

Hello all,

but this is my first Beemer bike(I have a 325XIT car). Any tips for a 1st time owner?

Yes, it's considered proper etiquette to learn the way of the BMW bike on an older bike...like a 2000 R 1100rt.

I could pop over next week and trade mine for your R1200, just a temparary thing,maybe a couple of weeks other wise I might feel that I'm being taken advantage of. grin.gif

Seriously welcome, from out west. wave.gif

Congratulations on a great choice of bike. You will enjoy immensely. As a "sidebar" tip, if you are purchasing BMW gear (such as riding gear) it is usually far less expensive to buy from the US, even after shipping/tax/customs duty. Especially with the strong CAN dollar.